Primary Seat Belt Law
One of the top strategies for meeting the Coalition’s goal is strengthening Missouri's seat belt law to allow for primary enforcement. Of more than 500 Missouri traffic laws, our seat belt law is the ONLY one that has a secondary enforcement provision – a driver must break another law first before they can be cited for a seat belt violation.
A primary seat belt law in Missouri would increase seat belt usage saving 63 lives, 759 serious injuries and $179 million in costs in the first year it goes into effect.
States that pass a primary seat belt law experience, on average, an 11 percent increase in seat belt usage.
Graduated Driver’s License Law
Step One: Instruction Permit
Eligible Age: 15
Valid for: 0 to 12 Months
- Pass the vision, road sign, and written tests.
- Be accompanied by a qualified adult to the contract office to sign a permission statement.
Step Two: Intermediate License
Eligible Age: 16
Valid for: 0 to 2 Years
- Hold the Instruction Permit for at least 182 days.
- Have no alcohol-related offenses in the last 12 months and no traffic convictions in the last 6 months.
- Be accompanied by a qualified adult to verify that you have received 40 hours of driving instruction, including a minimum of 10 hours of nighttime driving instruction.
- Pass driving test.
Step Three: Under-21 Full Driver License
Eligible Age: 18
Valid for: 0 to 3 Years
- Satisfy requirements for an Intermediate License.
- Have a valid Intermediate License, without driving privilege suspension, revocation, or denial.
- Pass vision and road sign tests.