Regions Connnect



     Missouri Crash Statistics:     Blueprint Queries

     Blueprint Grant Applications:  FY '15 Grant Application



Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety

Southwest Region

        2014 STATISTICS


(To Date)

 SW Region

                         Percent Change        

  2014 vs. 2013  

3.47 % (Decrease)
3.16 % (Decrease)

Updated Dec 14, 2014



FY '15 Coalition Meeting Schedule:

Date:                    February 24, 2015

Time:                             9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Location:                       TBD



2013 PSA Winner

Reed Spring High School won the Southwest Region contest for its 30-second video, "Grand Theft Auto", created by Paul McFerron.  This video is one of five entries submitted from a video production class taught by Aimee Dillon.


2012 PSA Winner

Diamond High School won the Southwest Region contest and received 2nd Place Statewide for its 30-second video, "Commentator", put together by the National Honor Society (NHS).  Shirley Golhofer is the NHS sponsor.


2011 PSA Winner

Reeds Spring High School won the Southwest Region contest and received a Statewide Honorable Mention for its 30-second video, "Seat Belt Check," put together by senior Dakota Shoemaker.  The video stars Dakota and her younger sister Sami Tennison.  It was one of six entries submitted from a video production class taught by Aimee Mallard.


Roll Over Cars Schedule

 Safe and Sober


Current Goal

700 or less by 2016.

Blueprint to Save More Lives



Regional Highway Safety Award Winners Announced


Springfield – Four highway safety statewide award winners and 14 regional award winners were given recognition at the 2014 Blueprint for Safer Roadways Conference held in St. Louis last week.   Six organizations and individuals also received outstanding partner awards.  The conference is sponsored by the Missouri Coalition of Roadway Safety, who goal is to reduce fatalities and disabling injuries on Missouri roads.  “We very much appreciate the efforts of all who are involved to encourage safe driving, and we will continue to work towards the ultimate goal of losing zero lives on Missouri roads,” said Leanna Depue, Ph.D., director of highway safety for the Missouri Department of Transportation.


The MO Coalition for Roadway Safety oversees seven regions, who work closely with communities to identify opportunities to reduce fatalities and disabling injuries on Missouri roads.  Each region selected an Arrive Alive Award recipient and a Show-Me Safety Award” recipient.  The Southwest Region winners are:


Southwest Regional Arrive Alive Award winner is Kurt Larson, founder of the Missouri Safe and Sober program.

Southwest Regional Show Me Safety Award winner is Jeremy Lynn, for planning and holding the March 11, 2014 Central Ozarks Regional DWI Task Force media kickoff.


The statewide Arrive Alive Award was presented to One Curve at a Time, the statewide Tempe Humphrey Award was presented to ThinkFirst of Greater Kansas City/The Research Foundation, the statewide Lay Down the Law Award was presented to Sgt. Brent Bernhardt, public information office for Troop B of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, and the statewide Show-Me Safety Award was presented to the three organizations, TrailNet, MoDOT and Metro of St. Louis, for their collaboration of “Safe Roads for All,” a safety campaign to build awareness regarding bicyclist, pedestrian and motorist safety. 


The Coalition is led by an executive committee who recognized the following organizations and individuals as outstanding partners:

City of St. John and Hardy Meness of Menees, Whitney, Burnet and Trog, for their primary safety belt ordinance legal defense;  Kurt Larson for the Missouri Safe and Sober Program; Joe Machens Ford, ThinkFirst Missouri, and KRCG 13 for their support of the “Focus on the Road” campaign.


The Blueprint Conference is held every two years and led by several active members of the Coalition.  More information about the Coalition can be found online at  

Photos of award winners are posted there.




Jump to a Region

News & Resources Events